The Polish official earned a lot of admiration from spectators and his fellow officials for his solid performance on the biggest platform at the Lusail Stadium.

Read Also: The prestigious award missing from Lionel Messi’s collection

Being likened to the famous Pierluigi Collina put a lot of pressure on Marciniak, but he handled it brilliantly and made a number of crucial decisions in one of the best finals in recent history.

Read Also: Who has won the Super Ballon d’Or, and what is it?

One of Marcinak’s best judgements was recognising right away that Marcus Thuram had dived in the box while the majority of spectators believed it was a penalty.

Although the 41-year-old is pleased with his performance and is getting a lot of media attention in his native Poland, he isn’t getting ahead of himself and acknowledged that he felt he made one mistake.

When Argentina left-back Marcos Acuna fouled the opponent, it did not allow the advantage to be played. Marcinak believes that continuing the game would have been the best decision in retrospect because France was on the attack.

Read Also: Toni Kroos broke ‘forbidden’ Cristiano Ronaldo rule after Lionel Messi’s World Cup win

“I interrupted the French counter-attack after a bad tackle by Marcos Acuna.

“I was afraid that the fouled player wanted to unwind, and I read it wrong because nothing happened, and you could give an advantage and then come back with a card. It’s hard. In a game like this, I take such a mistake in the dark. The important thing is that there were no big mistakes.”

Marciniak responded to criticisms that Argentina’s third goal ought to have been overturned during the same press conference.

“The French didn’t mention this photo, where you can see how there are seven Frenchmen on the pitch when Mbappé scores a goal.”

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here