The Super Ballon d’Or winner was revealed on December 24, 1989. The honour was presented to celebrate the 30th anniversary of France Football Magazine.

Read Also: Toni Kroos broke ‘forbidden’ Cristiano Ronaldo rule after Lionel Messi’s World Cup win

Only European athletes were considered for the Super Ballon d’Or award.

The legendary Alfredo Di Stéfano, who took home the award, beat Michel Platini and Johan Cruyff in the voting process. The award was only open to players from Europe, and Di Stéfano was nominated because he is a Spanish national. Di Stéfano was the only player to ever win the Super Ballon d’Or. The Real Madrid icon also won the official Ballon d’Or trophy twice, in 1957 and 1959, during Real Madrid’s reign of terror in the 1950s.

Read Also: Cristiano Ronaldo shared his thoughts on whether Lionel Messi’s World Cup triumph makes him the G.O.A.T

Also, Di Stéfano helped Madrid win the first five straight European Cups from 1956 and 1960.

The Golden Ballon d’Or, which also honoured players from outside of Europe, was awarded to Diego Armando Maradona in 1995.

On July 7, 2014, Alfredo Di Stéfano, 88, passed away in the General University Hospital Gregorio Maraón in Madrid.

While playing for Los Blancos, he won eight LaLiga titles, five consecutive European Cups, an Intercontinental Cup, two Copas Latinas, a Copa de Espaa, and Club World Cup. The Blond Arrow also scored 308 goals in 396 games for Real Madrid.

Read Also: The true meaning behind Lionel Messi wearing a black cloak to lift the World Cup

Though it is not the only one, it is the most outstanding exceptional Ballon d’Or awarded. Additionally, in January 2014, FIFA and “France Football” jointly honoured Pelé with a second honorary award in appreciation of his career and achievements to football after the regulations were changed in 1995 to let non-European players to compete in and win it.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here